The European Council of Interior Architects is the representative body for the European professional organizations in Interior Architecture and Design. Founded in 1992, ECIA currently represents 14 members-national organizations, with over 6000 professionals Interior Architects/Designers.

On 19 May 2012, the official application by the ESL to join the ECIA (European Council of Interior Architects) was signed at the ECIA outing session in Tallinn. At the General Assembly of the ECIA in Brussels on 19–20 October 2012 the ESL was accepted as a full member of the European organisation. The ESL actively participates in the activities of the ECIA – in the sessions of the ECIA Nordic section and the ECIA General Assembly.


President's greetings


September 2017

At the end of the summer, when most of us probably went on a nice vacation or enjoyed the (slightly) slower workflow in the offices, we start preparing for the last few months of the year. Which means we are preparing ourselves for our general assembly and our 25th birthday event. Which are both in Pärnu, Estonia.

Together with the Estonian organisation, the ESL, we worked on a great program, including a warm and welcoming opening dinner, a tour along great projects in Pärnu, an amazing symposium and a party to celebrate this all.

The symposium is called ‘Bright Future’ to explore and show the great future and potential of our discipline. We invited best practises from various countries. Top interior architects and designers (although we all are of course) and great examples of research design to inspire us and which will give us a heads up for what will come. We are certainly rooted in the past, but during this symposium, above all, we are heading for the future!

To end with, I can share with you that we have a great attendance in Pärnu. In fact, we will have (one of) the highest attendance in the history of the ECIA! I am honoured to welcome such a large group of inspiring people. All willing to meet, discuss, gather and explore for our wonderful profession.

Are you still doubtful about coming? Don’t be! I can assure you it will be worth it!

I am looking forward to seeing you!
Anja Dirks, President of the ECIA

Earlier Greetings

May 2017

December 2016

September 2016

April 2016

The current President Anja Dirks

Boards of IFI & ECIA - Milan meeting 11.2016

ECIA Board 2016

GA 2016

Chaserrugg (Herzog & De Meuron)

GA 2016

GA 2016

New Board 2015 - LTR: Elke Kaiser, Marianne Daepp, Jan Geysen, Anja Dirks, Elisabetta de Strobel and Tüüne-Kristin Vaikla

Per Reinholtz - President of ECIA 2014-2015

Former Presidents of ECIA Per Reinholtz and Joke van Hengstum

The Executive Board of ECIA 2014-2015